university

Enrolments open

I have had a tricky week, not least because it began with my car getting rear-ended*. But everything is okay because university enrolments are open.

What I have been looking forward to the most is the Introductory subject/paper**/topic to Archaeology. Really it is about diving into the nitty-gritty of navigating the profession.

The topic overview on the university website promises that I, the student, will learn about (lightly paraphrased):

  • ethical problems facing archaeologists,
  • the legal rigmarole that must be adhered to by archaeologists,
  • how to survive project planning in Cultural Heritage Management,
  • how to write a half decent archaeologist’s report,
  • the consequences and ramifications of mangling ethical practice in archaeology.

Et voila, the very Framework Skeleton of Professional Archaeology. Hopefully the reality of studying this is delicious and not dry.


*Driving and I already have a fraught relationship. Anyway, I’m fine, but my poor car made loud alien whirring noises in the brief time it took to get from the collision site to work to be safely towed. On the bright side, I can now tick “operate a vehicle that sounds like a space shuttle” off my bucket list.

** the university where I did my undergrad degree in NZ, calls topics ‘papers’. This makes sense but is apparently confusing from an Oz perspective. Is it called ‘papers’ only in Kiwi vernacular?

Standard

8 thoughts on “Enrolments open

  1. Glad you are ok, any vehicle collision no matter how minor is always scary…

    We called essays “papers” in my college classes (in the USA). In your context “topic/paper” sounds more like the class itself?

    Liked by 1 person

      • That’s so interesting!
        I hope you enjoy learning all the material. I took 1 archaeology class and found it fascinating. But it was more historical, and less about the profession itself.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment